Home > en > Longines Jumping International de La Baule > News > New era for the Nation’s Cup

New era for the Nation’s Cup

Tuesday 12 March 2013, by Célia

All the versions of this article: [English] [français]

The prestigious FEI Nations Cup previously held in European countries, heralds a new dawn with two new sponsorships: The four-year title sponsor Saudi Equestrian Fund, Furusiyya, and Swiss watchmaker,Longines, the official timekeeper of the series for the next decade. It is an important turning-point for the long-running series which just celebrated its 100-year anniversary in 2009. Traditionally European-oriented, Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™ reaches out to the rest of the world. In this inaugural season, 22 events will take place during the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™ Jumping series before the 2 million euros Final at the end of September.

JPEG - 19.5 kb

Six regions
Under the new rules, the world has been divided into six regions from which teams will qualify for the Final. Europe has been sub-divided into two divisions, and the eight FEI Nations Cup™ Top League venues from the 2012 series - La Baule (FRA), Rome (ITA), St Gallen (SUI), Aachen (GER), Falsterbo (SWE), Rotterdam (NED), Hickstead (GBR) and Dublin (IRL) - will each host a qualifying leg for Europe Division 1.

The other regions are North & Central America & the Caribbean Islands; South America; Middle East; Asia/Australasia; and Africa.

Nations declared for the 2013 series

Europe - Division 1: Spain, France, United Kingdom, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Switzerland, Ukraine

Europe - Division 2 : Austria, Belgium, Belorussia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey

North America: Canada, Mexico, USA

South America: Brazil, Colombia

Middle East: Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Syria, United Arab Emirates

Asia and Australasia: Australia, Japan, New Zealand

Africa: Egypt, South Africa

Longines presents Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™ at La Baule, Friday, May 17th 2013 at 2.05pm

Longines International Jumping of La Baule is a CSIO 5*(Official International Jumping Competition, the highest level in this discipline) part of the Europe 1 Division. France, Switzerland, Ireland, United Kingdom and Spain will be represented by 8 teams competing at La Baule 2013 Nations cup, held in two rounds with identical courses. Unlike other events, in a Nations cup, the rider does not compete only for himself but for his country. The competition does not end when he crosses the finish line but when the last member of his team finishes the course. On the 4 members of a team, only the points of the 3 best couples are taken into account.
The winning team will have the least or no penalty points after the two rounds. In case of tied entries after the second round, the jump-off settles the winner.

Useful information about the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™:

The Final :
Europe Division 1 teams will have to take part in 4 legs of the Nations Cup to qualify for the Final.

A total of 18 teams will be eligible to compete at the Final, with nine from Europe, two each from North & Central America & the Caribbean, South America, Middle East and Asia/Australasia, and one from Africa. If the host nation does not qualify for the Final, they will still be permitted to compete, bringing the number of teams to 19.
The top eight teams will go through to the final competition, while the remainder will compete in the Consolation class.

The quest for points:
The top four nations from the 2012 Top League - GER, FRA, IRL, GBR - were given first option to choose the venues at which they will aim to accumulate points, while the remaining four countries – SUI, NED, UKR, SPA - will be allocated their events by the FEI.
In the Furusiyya FEI Nations CupTM 2013 series, the French team will be competing at La Baule’s CSIO 5* (May 16th-19th), in Rome in May (ITA), Aix La Chapelle in June (GER), and Hickstead in August (GBR).

The calendar for the 2013 Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™ season is as follows:

Al Ain (UAE) CSIO 5* - 21 February – Middle East;
Wellington (USA) CSIO 4* - 1 March - North America, Central America and Caribbean;
Lummen (BEL) CSIO 4* - 5 May – Europe Division 2;
Linz (AUT) CSIO 3* - 5 May – Europe Division 2;
Drammen (NOR) CSIO 3* - 10 May – Europe Division 2;
La Baule (FRA) CSIO 5* - 17 May – Europe Division 1;
Rome (ITA) CSIO 5* - 24 May – Europe Division 1;
Copenhagen (DEN) CSIO 4* - 24 May – Europe Division 2;
St Gallen (SUI) CSIO 5* - 31 May – Europe Division 1;
Lisbon (POR) CSIO 3* - 7 June – Europe Division 2;
Sopot (POL) CSIO 3* - 14 June – Europe Division 2;
Spruce Meadows (CAN) CSIO 5* - 14 June – North America, Central America and Caribbean;
Rotterdam (NED) CSIO 5* - 21 June – Europe Division 1;
Aachen (GER) CSIO 5* - 27 June – Europe Division 1;
Falsterbo (SWE) CSIO 5* - 12 July – Europe Division 1;
Budapest (HUN) CSIO 3* - 12 July – Europe Division 2;
Hickstead (GBR) CSIO 5* - 2 August – Europe Division 1;
Bratislava (SVK) CSIO 3* - 2 August – Europe Division 2;
Dublin (IRL) CSIO 5* - 9 August – Europe Division 1;
Gijon (ESP) CSIO 5* - 30 August – Europe Division 2;
San Marino, Arezzo (ITA) CSIO 3* - 6 September – Europe Division 2;
Kiev (UKR) CSIO 5* - 13 September – Europe Division 2;
FINAL: venue to be confirmed, 26-29 September.